TWD: Tiger Cakes

I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for tigers.  Everyone seems to have some animal that they almost have a special attachment too.  Tigers are mine.  I find them very regal but yet adorable.  Yes, I know that sounds odd.  But for someone who was raised with cats her entire life, I always see tigers as great big cats.  So, in my mind tigers are both adorable and dangerous.  And that is exactly how my husband described these little cakes.  “These are dangerous.” he said after taking his first bite.  Then I ate one.  I would have to agree.  These little Tiger Cakes are both adorable and dangerous.

IMG_3391

They are adorable in the way that every mini cake is adorable, but dangerous in that they are unsuspecting in their taste.  Just like a tiger, they sneak up on you.  We ate our first ones while they were still warm from the oven.  They were as good as warm chocolate chip cookies in my mind.  They were so good that when I asked my husband (the chocoholic of the house) if I should dip them in chocolate like Dorie suggests, he actually said no.

IMG_3390

Since these cakes were so easy to make, which again, makes them dangerous in another way, my husband brought them to work to share with his co-workers.  I even received an e-mail asking for the recipe.  My only additional note on the recipe is that make sure you grease the muffin tin very, very well.  All of my cakes stuck to the bottom.  It didn’t seem to impact their flavor, but it did impact their appearance.  So, please excuse the not so beautiful cakes, but realize that no everything is as it seems in a picture.

Please go see how other TWD baker’s enjoyed their Tiger Cakes.  And if you want the recipe, please purchase the book.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Dessert, Recipes

4 responses to “TWD: Tiger Cakes

  1. Taste is all the matters:) We loved these too. I think the chocolate topping is a must. Next time non-stick pan, worked like a charm for me.

  2. you have nice chocolate bits in there– I can tell they were delicious!!

  3. Warm chocolate chip cookies — EXACTLY! They look great, despite apparently sticking. And your husband’s coworkers are lucky!

  4. Nana

    These little cakes were quite delicious with or without the chocolate topping.

Leave a Reply

