TWD: Strawberry Shortcakes, Franco-American Style

A couple weeks ago I made strawberry shortcakes the way I always had it when I was growing up.  I bought the little sponge cake cups you get at the grocery store.  I put some sliced strawberries on them and then I topped them with whipped cream.  Afterwards, my husband looked at the ingredients for the sponge cakes and he was appalled.  He didn’t understand how something that seemed so simple could have so many ingredients.  Needless to say, we haven’t had those again.

IMG_2990

This recipe was also perfect timing in that my son and I picked strawberries on Saturday.  We ended up picking over 13 pounds!  The berries were just so good that I couldn’t stop picking them.  I made a double batch of jam, or 20 pints, and I still had half of them left over!  So, I made sure to use up quite a few in this recipe.  In my opinion, you can’t eat too much fruit or vegetables and so a dessert with fruit is always a perk.

IMG_2992

The shortcakes were a basic lady-finger recipe piped into circles and baked.  I was a little shocked that they didn’t rise, but in the end that didn’t matter.  Mine actually sunk a little after I took them out of the oven.  Oh well though, it isn’t as though that impacts the taste.  I also took the time to roast some strawberries per Dorie’s suggestions.  Overall, this was a hit in our house.  My husband said these were so much better than the kind we used to make.  The only similarity between the two was the whipped cream.  I didn’t take the time to whip my own, instead I used the canned.  I just didn’t feel like dirtying another bowl for something I feel is quite good in the can.

IMG_2994

Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Dessert

5 responses to “TWD: Strawberry Shortcakes, Franco-American Style

  1. The 2nd 35 Years

    I did one lb of roasted strawberries, and one lb of macerated strawberries. It was a revelation!

  2. Amy

    Your cakes look yummy. Mine didn’t rise much either, but they sure tasted good.

  3. Oh, they look so good! I totally want to make them with roasted strawberries now!

  4. Beautifully done! Loved these and the roasted strawberries! A winner for sure!

  5. I was a little worried when mine didn’t rice, but I think it turned out perfectly! Definitely a favorite at our house!

Leave a Reply

