America’s Test Kitchen’s Wacky Cake

America’s Test Kitchen is hosting a “journey” through the 1900’s where you cook one recipe from each decade.  This week’s recipe is from 1945, during the heart of World War II when food was being rationed.  This week’s recipe is Wacky Cake, which is a basic chocolate cake that requires no milk or eggs.  The leavening is from the chemical reaction that occurs between baking soda and vinegar.  Overall, the cake was very easy to put together.  It only required 1 pan and only 5 minutes to put together.  Also, I already had all the ingredients on hand.  It’s also delicious.  For the recipe, please see  America’s Test Kitchen’s recipe here.

Also, in order to show my spirit of the 1940’s and wartime rationing I thought I would include a photo of all of my canning work.  It includes strawberry, raspberry, and apricot jams, applesauce, tomatoes, pickles, beets, salsa, and vegetable soup.

My husband and I have quite the garden, so any extra crops end up either being canned or frozen for the winter.  While beets are good canned, green beans and peas are frozen.  Nothing tastes as good as homemade in the middle of winter!

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Dessert, Recipes

2 responses to “America’s Test Kitchen’s Wacky Cake

  1. I love your canning pic! Definitely in the spirit of the 1940’s! Do you have a favourite pickle recipe?

    • catsinthekitchen

      No, I have only tried pickles once, but I didn’t use the right type of cucumbers. And my husband doesn’t like pickles, so I haven’t tried again.

Leave a Reply

