TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Drops & Great Grain Muffins

I have so much going on, yet I am at a loss for words.  My brain is just moving too fast to think of something witty or for a story today.  It could also be caused by the spaciness that pregnancy has given me.  I swear I would forget my head if it wasn’t attached to my body right now.  I have lists everywhere so I don’t forget what I’m supposed to do.  Oh well, only 6 weeks to go.  Oh my gosh…ONLY 6 WEEKS TO GO!  I’m not ready.  At least the odds are with me right now that I’ll probably be a little late being that most first pregnancies are, but watch, since I’m not ready my little one will decide to make  its debut early.  Isn’t that how it works?  You aren’t ready, but they are.  Oh well.  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. 

Onto the recipe of the week, Chocolate Oatmeal Drops.  I’ve been wanting to make these cookies for quite some time.  They sound really good.  They are like an oatmeal brownie almost.  I don’t think I did something wrong, but I probably should have refrigerated the dough before baking them.  My dough was really runny, so my cookies spread out really far.  So, instead of normal sized cookies that have a decent thickness, mine are like brittle crepes.  They are very thin and fragile.   At least they taste good though.  If I make these again I’ll have to try refrigerating the dough for a while before baking.  If you would like the recipe please check out Caroline and Claire’s blog at Bake with us

I also want to do a quick post of the Great Grain muffins, which was the recipe of the week two weeks ago.  I did make these, I just didn’t manage to post about them.  I liked them, although they are slightly bland.  They are not as substantial as I was expecting, which was nice.  I didn’t really want a very dense muffin.  They go well with jam though and make a very nice mid-morning snack.  Mine turned out very much like the picture for a change. 

And on a final note, Bonkers is not taking to the nursery very well.  She is trying to claim anything she can.  The bedroom used to be her room, and now she is barely allowed in it.  So, here’s a picture of her trying to claim the little swing before we swiftly kicked her out of it.  She’s been moping around now.  I think this transition is going to be very difficult on her.  Hopefully she does okay though, she is such a sweet kitty.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Dessert, Recipes

Leave a Reply

