TWD: Nutty Chocolatey Swirly Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Wow, this week’s TWD recipe is quite the mouthful.  It was the Nutty, Chocolatey Swirly Sour Cream Bundt Cake.  It was chosen by Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort.  I was really uncertain as to whether or not I was going to make this because I just don’t think we need an entire bundt cake to ourselves for the week.  But, I knew that my husband was going cross-country skiing this Saturday and he could always bring it along.  There’s nothing like a bunch of hungry people who had just gone skiing to help you demolish your baked goods. 

I made the cake exactly as Dorie stated.  It came together easily, but I had some problems getting the filling into two areas.  The batter was quite thick and hard to spread and there just wasn’t enough of it to make an indent in on the top and then cover up the remaining filling.  So, I just made an indent and crossed my fingers that the batter would bake up around it.  And it did for the most part.  Overall, the cake was well received.  This cake really reminds me of my mother-in-law’s coffee cake recipe except with a few extras in the filling.  The orange zest added a nice flavor too in the batter and really lightened it up. 

The skiing group also enjoyed the cake.  I wish I could have went skiing with them, but I am having a hard time tying my shoes now.  So, I’ve decided to stop skiing until my feet come back into view.  Here’s a picture of me currently, I am 30 weeks (6.5 months) along.  I really can’t complain.  I thought I would be a lot larger at this point.  Hopefully the pregnancy continues this way.

If you would like the recipe, please visit Jennifer’s blog.  Thanks and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Recipes

Leave a Reply

