TWD: Fluff-filled Chocolate Madeleines

So, do you ever have one of those days you just shouldn’t be in the kitchen?  Well, this past Sunday was one of them for me.  I didn’t have a lot of plans, but I had a few.  First on the agenda was to make this week’s TWD recipe, fluff-filled chocolate madeleines.  I don’t have a madeleine pan, so I decided to make these in a muffin tin.  Dorie said they are very similar to Hostess cupcakes, so I figured it would not be too bad of a thing to make them in a muffin tin.  The batter came together quite nicely and then even baked up perfectly.  They have high tops and I thought things were going to be okay. 

Then came the filling.  Now, I wanted to put marshmallow fluff in the middle of thes, but I refuse to buy a quart of it for the two tablespoons that I would need.  Instead I thought I would try to make some on my own using just regular marshmallows and making a filling similar to what is used to hold rice krispie treats together.  Well, that failed miserably.  Mine turned into quite the blob of who knows what.  I couldn’t even stir it.  It looked horrible.  Now, I did have a back-up plan.  Dorie says that you can also fill these with jam.  So, I did.  I used some of our homemade raspberry jam we canned last summer.  The only problem was that I couldn’t really get the filling to actually get down into the cookie.  So, mine only have a dollop of jam and it mostly got absorbed right away.

And last, came the topping.  I went to make the ganache.  One my first attempt I must have had a little water in the bowl and it broke.  If you have never broke chocolate, you are lucky.  It turns into quite the blob of disgusting looking chocolate.  It gets really grainy and hard to stir.  Well, at least attempt number two went better. 

So, in the end the cookies came together.  They are okay.  I wish there was more filling.  They look more like cupcakes than madeleines, but they get the point across.  At least my husband had better luck in the kitchen this weekend.  He managed to make me a 3-layer chocolate cake with chocolate frosting for me for my birthday.  His cake turned out beautifully, see:

 

So, if you wish to try the madeleines, please go over to Margot’s blog at Effort to Deliciousness.  And at least, I’ll leave you with a picture of how Bonkers spent her weekend helping me do laundry.  Enjoy!  Now onto my other weekend projects, preparing meals for after the baby is born.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

