TWD: Rewind to Tall and Creamy Cheesecake

For this week’s TWD we were allowed to make a recipe that was already chosen because of the craziness that tends to occur around the holidays.  I choose to make the tall and creamy cheesecake.  I made the chocolate marble version.  I then made sure to leave it with my dad and step-mom because the last thing my husband and I needed was more sweets around the house.  We already had 4 batches of different types of cookies and some fudge at home.  Also, I knew that my step-sister and her family were coming to celebrate Christmas another day with my dad, so they could also help consume this monstrosity. 

This cheesecake is definitely a monstrosity.  It stands at about 3 inches high!  It was delicious though also.  Dorie isn’t kidding when she said it goes all the way to the top of the pan and that you need to measure your springform pan beforehand.  I had the correct size and it was still huge.  I made the chocolate marbled version of the cheesecake.  It was super creamy and airy, but still very rich.  I made no substitutes to make this low-fat either.  It was a full-fat cheesecake, because really, what is the point of a low-fat cheesecake?  You really don’t need any more than a sliver of this cake to fill you up. 

So, if you have about 5 hours free, I highly recommend this cheesecake.  Sorry the pictures are not better, I didn’t have my camera with me when I unmolded the cake at my dad’s house.  So, all I have is pictures of it with the sides on.  The marbling does go throughout and is quite beautiful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

