TWD: Translucent Maple Tuiles

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Hindy of Bubie’s Little Baker.  She choose Translucent Maple Tuiles.  The picture in the book looks so nice.  There are these cute little lacy cookies that are just a wonderful golden shade of maple.  Mine however are nothing like this.  I was hesitant about the recipe, but like my husband said, how bad can it be when there are only 4 ingredients and we have them all on hand.  Well, it can be quite bad.  Everything was originally fine until I baked them.  Mine completely burned.  By the time the maple scent was rising out of the oven it was way too late to save these.  I didn’t even get the chance to try a second batch because I only made a quarter of the recipe and so I only had 1 batch to bake.  Oh well.  I got one picture because I couldn’t even get them off the tray.  I did manage to chissel one off and try it, but I have to admit I didn’t really like it.  I couldn’t really taste the maple syrup.  They just tasted burnt. 

Oh well though, I guess you can’t win them all.  Hopefully next week’s recipe turns out a little better and that this isn’t an omen for what is to come during the rest of the Christmas baking season.  (Oh, that would be bad.)  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.  Until then, you can try these, but I warn you to keep a close eye on them.  They burn in a split second.  Maybe Hindy has a better picture, so please visit her blog.  Ciao!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

