TWD Double Duty: Caramel Pumpkin Pie & All-American, All Delicious Apple Pie

I know I’m late with last week’s post.  You have to understand though, that I needed to switch the recipes for this week and last.  This past weekend we held an early Thanksgiving dinner with a group of friends.  It was my job to do dessert.  I thought that the caramel pumpkin pie would be great for it.  So, I just switched the two recipes.  I have made both recipes though. 

 

The caramel pumpkin pie was a huge hit for the dinner.  The apple pie, is well, an all-American all-delicious apple pie.  Little explanation is needed for the apple pie.  It was delicious and provided that excellent apple pie aroma in our house on a nice, crisp day of Autumn.  That’s a nice memory.  You see, right now I am sitting in our house bundled up because we are in the middle of one of the worst wind storms the area has seen in decades.  It’s unbelievable how bad the wind is right now.  We actually have  a high wind advisory, which I’ve only seen during winter months, not October.  I feel as though we have gone from Fall to Winter in the course of less than 24 hours.  The thought of these pies though, allows me to remember that we actually did have a Fall though, even if it was fleeting.  Now its on to Winter for the next 5-6 months.  Good thing there are recipes like stews and chilis to help me through those months. 

So, if you want the recipe for the caramel pumpkin pie, which is really good with the deep caramel flavor that so nicely accents the spices of pumpkin pie, please visit Janell’s blog at: Mortensen Family Memoirs.  And, if you would like the recipe for the apple pie, please visit Emily’s blog at: Sandmuffin.

Enjoy!

(Oh, and you’ll just have to trust me that the pumpkin pie turned out good, because it was gone too fast to get a picture of it.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

