Bon Appetit August

Just a quick post.  In my August attempt to try at least one new recipe every month from my Bon Appetit magazines I choose to make the Grilled Salmon with Quick Blueberry Pan Sauce.  My father-in-law was in town a couple of weekends ago and he loves salmon, but my mother-in-law hates it and refuses to eat it.  So, every time he comes to town I make some for him.  I tried to be a little more adventurous this time and I tried this recipe. 

I have to say, I was slightly underwhelmed.  It seemed slightly odd at first, but I thought what the heck, it looks easy enough and I can find all those ingredients.  The blueberry sauce was not nearly as sweet as I thought it was going to be.  It was really quite bland.  I was expecting a big punch of flavor, since the salmon was grilled plain.  It really didn’t have it though.  My father-in-law loved it, although I doubt he would ever say a bad word about anything.  He is such a nice man. 

Oh well though, you can win them all.  So, if you feel adventurous, you can try it.  Maybe leave out the vinegar at the end.  That might help.  It was quite colorful at least. 

Recipe: Grilled Salmon with Quick Blueberry Pan Sauce (from Bon Appetit August 2010)

1 Tbsp olive oil, plus more for brushing

3/4 cup sliced shallots

1 garlic clove, thinly sliced

1/4 tsp. salt, plus more for seasoning

1/4 tsp. chopped, fresh thyme, plus more for seasoning

1/8 tsp. ground allspice, plus more for seasoning

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup water

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

4 7-oz salmon steaks or fillets with skin

3 Tbsp. thinly sliced fresh mint, divided 

Heat 1 Tbsp oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add shallots; saute until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp thyme, and 1/8 tsp allspice.  Stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add blueberries, 1/4 cup water, and vinegar.  Mash berries with potato masher or back of fork and cook until sauce thickens, stirring often, 3-4 minutes.  Season with black pepper.  Remove from heat.  (Do ahead: Can be made 2 hours ahead.  Let stand at room temperature.  Rewarm before using.)

Brush grill rack with oil.  Prepare barbecue (medium high heat).  Brush salmon on both sides with oil; sprinkle with coarse salt, thyme, allspice, and black pepper.

Grill salmon until just opaque in center, 4-5 minutes per side.  Transfer to plates.  Stir 2 Tbsp sliced mint into warm blueberry sauce.  Spoon sauce over salmon and sprinkle with remaining 1 Tbsp mint.  Serve immediately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

