TWD: Oatmeal Breakfast Bread

This will be a quick post.  I didn’t have much time this weekend because my father-in-law came to visit for the weekend.  Hy husband and him are really into old style sailing ships and there was a Tall Ships festival up in Green Bay this weekend.  So, I decided to venture out in the near 90 degree heat and join them on Saturday.  Then on Sunday they wanted to go for a bike ride and since I passed on the bike ride in the heat on Saturday I felt as though I needed to go.  So, then I ended up going for a 21 mile bike ride on Sunday.  Needless to say, I need another weekend! 

So, I was quite happy that this week’s recipe was just a simple quick bread.  It was Dorie’s Oatmeal Breakfast Bread chosen by Natalie of Oven Love.  This is one of those quick breads that is a meal in and of itself.  Just one slice is all you need for breakfast with maybe a glass of OJ or coffee.  It’s a hearty bread, but good.  It was good before the long bike ride.  It kept me full the for the whole 21 miles. 

So, if you are going to be running a marathon sometime soon, or doing any other very strenuous activity go over to Natalie’s site and get the recipe.  It’s bound to keep you satisfied for quite some time.  (Sorry for the lack of pictures, but I ran out of time.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

