TWD: Gingered Carrot Cookies

Whew…it’s still Tuesday and I’m posting this week’s recipe.  I didn’t think I was going to make it.  We were camping all weekend in Upper Michigan in the Porcupine mountains and I didn’t think I would have the time to make this recipe.  I finally got to it tonight.  Thank goodness I had all the ingredients on hand already.  This week’s recipe was Gingered Carrot Cookies chosen by Natalia of gatti fili e farina over in Italy.  This recipe came together and went a lot smoother than our camping trip.  They are really simple little cookies that are a mixture of carrot cake and a scone, which isn’t a bad thing since I like both.

 

Now, for the camping.  We were gone for two nights.  The first night we stayed in a Yurk, which is a Mongolian style tent that is quite large and has windows.  It was very nice.  It was right along a shale beach on Lake Superior.  We could hear the waves all night.  It was beautiful.  Here’s a picture of the beach:

The second night though was a different story.  For the second day we rented the cabin on Lake of the Clouds up in the hills.  It’s about a mile hike from the car.  It seemed wonderful at first, but then I ventured into the outhouse (yes that’s right, there’s no running water what so ever at this cabin).  That was a mistake.  It was the worst outhouse I have ever seen.  I decided from then on I would just use the woods as my bathroom.  Then, there was a mouse in the cabin.  Now, I’m not overly sccared of mice, but this mouse was rummaging through all our stuff all night long.  My husband and I were kept up by this little creature almost all night.  The best part is that the other couple we were with both had ear plugs in.  They were completely oblivious to all this.  My husband and I got out of bed about 4 times that night and never woke them up.  This was quite the feet since they were only about 6″ away in another bunk.  The epitome of the night was when our flashlight died and I had to get up to go to the bathroom.  I had to search through the dark with a mouse around me feeling for our friends’ flashlight.  I was certain I was going to touch the mouse.  Well, I didn’t touch it and I was able to find their flashlight at least.  We eventually fell asleep, but let me tell you, I have never appreciated my own bed as much as I did on Sunday night.  So, if you ever feel like going to Lake of the Clouds, it is a beautiful place, just don’t stay at the cabin.  Here’s a picture of Lake of the Clouds:

Oh, and here is one last picture.  Rosie knew we were going to need her so she decided she would try to sneak along with us.  We caught her though before we got too far.  Too bad though, she definitly would have loved the mouse.  (Yes, that is Rose actually sticking her head out of Mike’s backpack.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

