TWD: Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Wendy of Pink Stripes.  She choose rum-drenced vanilla cakes.  I seem to be currently experiencing writers block, so I think I’ll keep this post nice and short.  I made a quarter of this recipe and I made the cakes in muffin molds.  This allowed me to make individual cakes.  The recipe came together wonderfully.  It was very easy and didn’t really require anything out of the ordinary except for the rum. 

Overall, I have to say that I was slightly disappointed in this week’s recipe.  I thought it was going to have more flavor than it did.  The rum syrup on top was okay, but the cakes really didn’t have a lot of flavor otherwise.  Maybe if I made it in a loaf pan and let it sit longer it would be better.  I do think this cake would work better without the rum and with strawberries on top.  The texture of the cake would lend itself nicely to strawberry shortcake.  So, maybe you can try that and enjoy this more than I did.  The picture shows strawberry ice cream with it and that definitely went well with the cake also. 

If you want the recipe please visit Wendy’s blog.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

