TWD: Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Spike of spikebakes.  The recipe of the week was banana coconut ice cream pie.  With the weather being in the upper 80s (which is almost unbearably hot for us Wisconsiners), this ice cream pie hit the spot.  Instead of making one large pie, I made mini pies using graham cracker crusts since my hubby does not care for coconut.

I love the combination of chocolate and bananas and so this recipe did not fail.  I even bought HagenDaas ice cream for it, which was definitely a splurge for us.  Although did anyone else notice that they are not sold in pint anymore, but in 14 oz containers.  I was a little miffed.  I would rather spend $0.05 more for the extra 2 oz.  This recipe was quick and easy and I really liked it, but as I said earlier, I’m a big fan of the chocolate and banana combo. (Chocolate covered frozen banana on a stick anyone?) 

On another note, we did get our garden in this weekend.  I love our garden.  It’s a 12′ x 18′ piece of earth in which we can grow a whole bunch of vegetables from beets, beans, carrots to tomatoes, cucumbers and melon.  I took us about 2 hours in the scorching mid-morning sun when it was about 82 degrees outside.  Yes, to people from the south, this is nothing, but 82degrees with 90% humidity is almost unbearable to most of us in Wisconsin.  It’s why we put up with the 10degrees in winter.  I just can’t wait until next weekend.  It’s my first day off besides typical weekends since New Years.  I’m looking forward to sitting around the house relaxing and trying to write a 25-page paper for my MBA.  Isn’t is scary that I don’t find 25-pages that intimidating anymore? 

I hope you enjoy the recipe and if you want to make it yourself, please visit Spike’s blog here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

