TWD: Burnt Sugar Ice Cream

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Becky of Project Domestication.  She choose Burnt Sugar Ice Cream.  Looking at the ingredients to this recipe there is nothing out of the ordinary, so I was thinking it would be similar to a vanilla ice cream.  There is sugar, milk, cream, egg yolks, salt and vanilla.  Nothing out of the ordinary there?  But once I read through the recipe I knew this was going to be different.  This recipe requires you to carmelize the sugar before adding it to the base. 

My carmelization of the sugar went well.  It turned from a clear solution into a nice amber colored solution.  Then it was time to add the milk and cream.  So, I slowly added them in.  I guess I didn’t do it slowly enough though and mine were way too cold.  I ended up with one large block of carmelized sugar stuck to the bottom of my pan.  It was not pretty.  But I kept at it and kept working at the bottom until it all dissolved into the milk.  The remainder of the recipe is fairly straight forward when it comes to ice cream recipes.

So, after the complete rock hard situation I had with the sugar I didn’t have very high hopes for this ice cream.  I forged on though and chilled the base and then put it in the ice cream maker.  After about 40 minutes, we had ice cream.  I had invited my dad over also for dinner that night so I was fortunate enough to have an extra taste tester.  This is the only picture I could manage because the ice cream disappeared so fast.

We were all floored.  This is one of the best ice creams I have ever had.  The second night I tried putting some chocolate sauce on it thinking that would be good, but no, it actually detracted from the ice cream.  That’s a first.  My husband even agreed with me.  This recipe is amazing.  It’s so simple, but that burnt sugar flavor is just amazing.  I’m so glad I made a full recipe.  I’ll definitely be making this again.  So, thank you Becky for picking this amazing recipe.  If you want the full recipe visit Becky’s blog.  I really hope you try this and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

