TWD: Swedish Visiting Cake

Okay, I know its Thursday, but TWD still works.  This week’s recipe was chosen by Nanch of The Dog Eats the Crumbs.  I have to say I’ve been looking forward to this cake for quite some time.  The picture made it look so simple and good. 

The picture does not do this recipe justice I think.  The picture makes the cake look sort of plain and like it doesn’t have a lot of taste.  That is exactly what this cake is not.  This cake has an excellent texture and the almond extract is just delicious.  Also, I don’t know if there is an easier cake to make.  Dorie is completely right when she said you can get it ready in the time it takes any guests to walk to your doorway. 

I absolutely loved this cake!  I ate mine with a little homemade raspberry jam on it, and it was absolutely delicious.  I will definitely be making this one again.  Maybe I’ll try the apple variation in fall.  I’ll also definitely be making a full recipe next time.  This time I halfed the recipe and made it in my mini-cast iron skillet.  It is just soo cute, I can’t help myself.  I hope you make this cake also, because it definitely does not disappoint.  The recipe can be found on Nancy’s blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

