TWD: Coconut Tea Cake

Someone really needs to invent three day weekends.  Two days is just not enough.  This past weekend I spent all day Saturday in Madison.  Which was great because we got a great deal on some new Trek 7.3FX bikes, which I’m thoroughly looking forward to riding once it gets above 50 degrees outside, but it also meant that Saturday was shot for being a productive day around the house.  It just meant that I was going to have to be extremely productive on Sunday.  Hence, I could really use a three day weekend, but who couldn’t, right?  Oh well, I did manage to make this week’s TWD recipe though before going down to Madison.  This week’s recipe was a Coconut Tea Cake chosen by Carmen of Carmen Cooks.

I’ve been looking forward to this recipe for quite some time.  It just seems so simple and tasteful.  It didn’t fail either.  This recipe came together very easily and it was delicious.  I made the lime variation and then put a lime glaze on top.  (I couldn’t stop signing the song “put the lime in the coconut and drink it all away” the whole time I was making this.)  I did leave out the coconut flakes though because my husband does not like them and I don’t want to have to eat this whole thing myself.

This cake was simple and elegant.  It has a wonderful texture, not too light, not too heavy.  This recipe took no time at all to put together.  Now, I wish I could say that about the other things in my life, like the 15 page paper I have due in a couple weeks for one of my MBA classes.

At least the weather forecast looks like it is supposed to be in the mid-60s here later in the week, so we will definitely be taking the new bikes out then!  I can’t wait!

So, if you want the recipe go to Carmen’s blog and I hope you enjoy it also!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

