TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bars

I feel just awful.  I haven’t made a TWD recipe for almost 2 months.  Between class and the holidays I’ve just been swamped.  I’m sure everyone else understands, but I feel like I should have left a note or something.  Oh well, I’m back now and I was productive last weekend.  I not only made this week’s recipe, I also made next week’s recipe.  Amazing right?

Now onto this week’s recipe, chocolate oatmeal almost-candy bars, chosen by Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm.  Every so often we make a Dorie recipe where I feel like her intent was to clean out her pantry.  This was one of those recipes.  Why else would there be peanuts, oatmeal, raisins, and sweetened condensed milk all together in one recipe?  I can’t complain though.  These turned out really good.  Really sweet, but really good.  I definitely needed milk afer these.  Normally I’m not a huge peanut fan, but I like the saltiness they added to this recipe.  The sweet and salty combination really works well in this recipe.

Overall, these are a hit.  I’m glad I only made a half recipe.  I really don’t need a full recipe.  So, thanks Lillian for picking an easy and good recipe.  It also gave me the chance to clean my pantry out a little.  Oh, and don’t mind the bite taken out in the pictures, how else I am supposed to taste them?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

