TWD Fast Forward: All-American Apple Pie

I’ve been meaning to write this post for about a week now.  I was hoping someone would pick this recipe for October.  But whenever it does get picked, I’ll tell you in advance that it is wonderful. 

Earlier this month my husband and I went apple picking as one of our fall traditions.  You see, fall only lasts about 2 weeks in Wisconsin.  Before you know it winter will be all around us for the next 6 months.  So, I have to get my fall cooking done in a short time period. 

DSC01493

(Sorry about the picture, but most of the pie got eaten before I could take one.)

 Now that I’m not scared of pies and I actually really like Dorie’s pie crust recipe I decided to try another apple pie.  I used both cortland and fiji apples for my pie.  The cortlands got nice and soft while the fiji maintained a nice firm texture.  I didn’t completely follow Dorie’s recipe though.  Instead of tapioca I added more cornstarch.  It worked out fine for me.  Dorie’s pie crust recipe though is absolutely delicious.  It can be found under the blueberry pie recipe previously posted on this blog. 

So, if you are in the mood for fall, don’t forget about the classic apple pie.  It’ll make your whole house smell like fall.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

