TWD: Cottage Cheese Pufflets

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Jacque of Daisy Lane Cakes.  When I first got this book, I was intrigued, but not interested in making these pufflets.  You see, I don’t really care for cottage things mixed with other things.  The only way I like cottage cheese is plain, not mixed with anything.  So, in my head it made no sense as to why to wreck a perfectly good cookie by putting cottage cheese it in.  Then my friend, Caitlin of Engineer Baker reminded me that it really isn’t that different from a dough made with cream cheese.  That made me feel little better, because I have no problem with cream cheese.

DSC01466

Overall, these pufflets were good.  They kind of reminded me of a jam turnover, like last week’s apple turnovers.  The dough was equally challenging to deal with also like the apple turnover dough.  I used a strawberry jam, which was a nice change from the typical raspberry or apricot that I usually bake with.  They have a really buttery taste to them, and they are pretty flaky.  So, if you are one of those people who likes cottage cheese in things, or you are feeling adventurous, these would be a good cookie to try.  They are good and different from your everyday cookie.  Enjoy!

 

DSC01465

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

