TWD: Espresso Cheesecake Brownies

This week’s TWD was chosen by Melissa from Life in a Peanut Shell.  The recipe was espresso cheesecake brownies.  At first this recipe screamed complete excess to me.  I mean who really needs brownies topped with cheesecake?  Well, I have to say that when finished these are quite nice and not excessive.  I made one small change, but I wouldn’t recommend it.  I don’t keep espresso in the house, so instead of the instant espresso I put some coffee-flavored liquor in the cheesecake batter.  In the end you could not really taste the coffee flavoring and so my brownies turned out to be a little bland.  That is no fault to the recipe though, as I am sure that if the espresso powder was in there they would have much more flavor.

DSC01304

The only other comment I have on this is that I was hoping the brownie part was a little more fudge-like.  Mine turned out very cake-like instead.  Don’t get me wrong they tasted fine.  They looked amazing though with the cheesecake marbled with bits of brownie batter.  I also left the frosting off of them since I knew they would not be gone immediately.  I really don’t know how much it would add to them, but I’m sure it wouldn’t be bad.  And none of the women at the Pampered Chef party I brought them to seemed to complain.  Other than that I’m going to keep this post short and simple.  So, I hope you enjoy!

DSC01306

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

