TWD Rewind: Blueberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream

DSC01290

I have to admit that I have been slacking somewhat in my TWD posts.  I have just been really busy along with trying to eat up the cherry-licious treats in our house.  I have also been dying to make this recipe ever since I saw the other TWDer’s post about this recipe with their purplish ice cream pictures.  It just looked too cool to pass up.  It is also such an quick and easy summer time dessert.  It was so refreshing.  This is also a notable moment for me because I have now completed half of the recipes that have been chosen by the TWD group!  I have also completed 10 other ones, which means I have made over 50 recipes from this book.  That is quite an accomplishment for a person who has a multitude of cookbooks and only makes one or two recipes from each one.  I can’t imagine what it will be like when I can actually say that I’ve completed all of the recipes in a cookbook.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see.  Until then, I hope you get to enjoy this quick and delicious summer time ice cream. 

DSC01289

Recipe: (from Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan)

1 cup blueberries – fresh or frozen (if frozen, thaw and drain)

1/3 cup sugar

pinch of salt

Grated zest and juice of 1/4 lemon, or more juice to taste

3/4 cup heavy cream

3/4 cup sour cream

Put the blueberries, sugar, salt and lemon zest and juice in a medium nonreactive saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring, until the mixture boils and the berries pop and soften, about 3 minutes.

Turn the berries into a blender and whir until you have a fairly homogeneous puree, about 1 minute.  Add the heavy cream and sour cream and pulse just to blend.  Taste and, if you would like, add a squirt more lemon juice or a tiny bit more sugar.

Pour the custard into a bowl and refrigerate until it is chilled before churning into ice cream.

Scrape the chilled custard into the bowl of an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Pack the ice cream into a container and freeze for at least 2 hours, until it is firm enough to scoop.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

