No TWD, but instead TWM: Cherry-Streusel Coffee Cake

So I have been slacking a bit on my Tuesdays with Dorie the past two weeks.  I had all intentions of making the applesauce spice bars last week, but I ran out time.  I’ll try to make them this fall after I go apple picking.  Then for this week the recipe is supposed to be the Creamiest Lime Meringue Pie, which I have to say doesn’t interest me at all.  I made the French Lemon Tart and the Tartest Lime Tart and my husband and I did not like either.  So, this recipe was just not up our alley. 

DSC01276

On the other hand though I have a huge surplus of freshly picked tart cherries from Door County, Wi.  My husband and I along with another couple went up there two weekends ago to go camping.  It just happened to also be the middle of cherry season (funny how that worked out with cherry pie being my favorite type of pie :)).  So, we had to go cherry picking.  Then when we returned home I had to find a use for all my nice tart cherries.  I had more than enough for 2 pies, so I found this recipe in Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook.  I’ve been dying to make it.  It has a wonderful layer of fresh tart cherries in the middle of this coffee cake.

DSC01279

It was a wonderful use for some of the extra cherries.  The only change I would make next time is to add more cherries.  Mine all sunk to the bottom.  Otherwise, this was a great breakfast treat for the week.  I will definitely be making this again next year when we return to Door County for cherry season.  I hope you also get the chance to enjoy it.

Recipe: Cherry-Streusel Coffee Cake from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter at room temperature, plus more for pan

2 cups AP flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup sour cream

1 cup frozen sour cherries, thawed and drained well, or fresh

1 cup Streusel (recipe to follow)

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

2 Tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter a 9″ tube pan, or bundt pan.  Set aside.  In medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla on medium speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes.  Add the flour mixture in three parts, alternating with the sour cream and beginning and ending with the flour.  Beat until just combined, scraping down the bowl as needed. 

Spoon half the batter into the prepared pan.  Arrange the cherries in a single layer on top of the batter; avoid placing any cherries against the pan’s edge, as they may stick or burn if not fully encased in batter.  Top with the remaining batter, and smooth with an offset spatula.  Sprinkle streusel evenly over the top of the batter.  Bake until the cake is golden brown and springs back when touched, about 40-45 minutes.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack set over a rimmed baking sheet and let the cake cool 10-15 minutes.  Invert the cake onto the rack, then re-invert (so streusel side is up) and let cool completely. 

DSC01275

Now, in a small bowl whisk together the confectioners’ sugar and milk until completely smooth.  Drizzle over the cake.  Let the glaze set, about 5 minutes, before serving.  Enjoy!

Streusel: (I made a quarter batch and it worked out fine)

2 1/4 cups AP flour

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

2 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 sticks (3/4cup) unsalted butter at room temperature

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cinnamon, and salt; cut in the butter using a pastry blender, until large, moist clumps form.  Streusel can be refrigerated for 2 weeks in an airtight container.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

