TWD: Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies

Wow!  So it seems like it has been forever since I have done anything with my blog.  With work and school, I have been kind of neglecting my kitchen.  You see, I actually made the blueberry pie at the beginning of June, not last week.  (Although I did make another one which turned out just as good.) 

DSC01226

So, for this week’s TWDthe recipe was chosen by Lisa of Surviving Oz chose Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies.  Boy, was I glad to see a quick and easy recipe for the week.  My husband and I are leaving on vacation this Saturday and so I had to make the first two recipes this past weekend.  Along with homework and 4th of July festivities, I was busy.  The three day weekend just flew by.  On Friday we went canoeing on the Crystal River in Waupaca, Wi.  I was expecting some rapids and rough areas, and nothing too bad.  I have gone on dozens of canoe trips and never once tipped the boat.  Well, this trip was different.  We tipped 3 times, and I have the bruises to show for it.  My right leg got trapped between the canoe and a rock one of the times we tipped in the rapids area.  From my knee to my butt there are bruises.  And I am so sore.  On Saturday my husband and I then went strawberry picking and I canned jam for the first time ever!  It turned out great. We had it on crepes for breakfast on Sunday.  We also enjoyed the local fireworks along the lakefront.  So, by the time Sunday came around I was still really sore but we did manage to do a few things like play tennis and other errands needed before our vacation next week.  Next week’s vacation is definitely needed.

DSC01229

So, on to the recipe.  As I was saying this week’s recipe was brownies.  Normally I would just make them out of a box and be done with it, but after this week that is going to stop.  These might be the best brownies I’ve ever had.  They are super fudgyand dense withchunks of chocolate in them.  If we had ice cream in the house they would make perfect brownie sundaes.  No wonder Katherine Hepburn got all those good parts, she probably bribed people with these brownies (just kidding, she was a great actress, but these would not hurt).  They came together so easily and were done in no time.  There were just as Dorie described them, dense and chocolately with a thin paperlike crust on the top which just added perfectly to the texture.  They don’t even need the obligatory frosting that my husband demands on brownies.  He thought they were good enough without it.  The only thing he asked for was a glass of milk.  Too bad for the guys at work, because these are definitely staying at home.  If you want the recipe please see Lisa’s blog at: Surviving Oz.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

