DC: Chinese Potstickers

This month’s Daring Cook’s recipe was Chinese Dumplings, aka Potstickers, chosen by Jen of Use Real Butter.  I was really excited about this recipe because it was something I have never tried before and because I love potstickers at Chinese restaurants. 

DSC01169

This recipe was a challenge though because it required us to make the wrappers.  This is something I never thought I could do, make wonton wrappers.  I mean they are super thin and perfect.  Well, my wrappers came out really nice, but the finished dumplings didn’t finish out so perfect.  Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious, but the appearance wasn’t quite right.  They didn’t have that perfect little purse look like the other ones did, but oh well, maybe next time.  I just don’t have the patience to sit there and make all the creases so perfect.  I’ve made ravioli before, but I have a special little tool to make the edges look nice without any effort.  This challenge required me to rely on myself and no tools to make the edges look perfect. 

DSC01170

I made that traditional pork filled potstickers and the traditional dipping sauce to go with them.  The only thing I omitted was the chili garlic paste since I didn’t want to buy a large bottle of it for something optional.  I did put all the other ingredients in it though.  To finish mine off I steamed some and I pan fried the other ones.  My husband and I agreed that the pan fried ones were better because of the extra texture the frying added to the wrappers.  The main problem we had while eating them was that the filling kept falling out while we were trying to dip them in the sauce.  We soon learned that if you don’t cut them in half until after you dip them it makes it a lot easier.  These dumplings were really good and I will possibly make them again, except next time I might buy wonton wrappers.  They are just so much easier.  This challenge makes me really excited for the next one.  I hope it is just as good as this month’s.

DSC01171

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

