La Palette’s Strawberry Tarts

When I made the tart dough for this week’s TWD recipe I made them in a muffin pan.  Since I was uncertain about the Tartest Lemon Tart (and I’m glad I was) I decided not to fill all the tarts.  Instead I made another, previous TWD recipe, La Palette’s Strawberry Tart.  Strawberries are a wonderful fruit and they are coming in season.  In a few more weeks I’ll be able to go strawberry picking and get my own. 

DSC01123

This recipe was excellent.  Instead of the strawberry jam it calls for I put raspberry jam in.  I really like the strawberry-raspberry combination.  They really accentuated each other.  My husband and I really enjoyed these very spring-like tarts.  They were gone in less than a day.  I will definitely be making this recipe again.  It takes almost no time at all to put together and looks really fancy.  So, if you are pressed for time like I am, I highly recommend you make this tart if you want some easy dessert or if you have guests coming over.

DSC01122

Recipe: (from Baking: from my home to yours by Dorie Greenspan)

Tart dough:

1 1/2 cup AP flour

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 tsp salt

9 Tbsp unsalted butter, cold or frozen and cut into pieces

1 egg yolk

In a food processor, combine the flour, powdered sugar and salt.  Add the butter and process until it forms crumbles, just a few pulses.  Add the egg yolk and process in 10second intervals into the dough forms clumps and curds.  The food processor should start to make a different sound as the dough comes together and this is how you know it is done. 

Turn it out onto a floured surface and press together.  Then press into a 9″ buttered tart pan.  Freeze for at least 25 minutes, preferably longer (I froze mine for over 4 hours and it was fine). 

Take out of the freezer and cover with greased foil.  The foil should be formed to be touching the tart.  Bake at 375degrees for 25 minutes.  At this point if you need a partially baked crust remove it from the oven.  If you need a fully cooked tart, remove the foil and bake for an additional 8 minutes or until golden brown.

Cool completely.

For the filling:

Once cooled spread strawberry jam over the tart.  Place fresh strawberries on top of the jam.  Wait to do these steps until the last moment of the tart might get soggy.  If desired you can mix the jam with some flavored liquor before spreading it over the tart.  Dorie also recommends putting fresh black pepper over the strawberries.  I’m not a fan of pepper, so I omitted this.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

