Mocha Gelato

I gave my husband the option last week to pick out a dessert he would like me to make.  He picked mocha gelato.  Ever since we went to Italy 3 summers ago my husband has been obsessed with gelato.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with that, it’s just that we just have different opinions on how we think we should get more gelato.  He thinks I need to learn to make it, while I insist that we need to move to Italy, or at least go there annually.  Well, it happens to be a heck of a lot cheaper to buy an ice cream maker than to go to Italy every year. 

So, here I am trying to make gelato.  After a few failed attempts I was ready to leave it to the professionals.  My husband then bought me a book on Italian Ice Cream.  This was the first recipe I tried making out of the book.  I have to say it came together very easily, the only I would change is to make a half batch next time.  The gelato came out very good.  I would probably call it ice cream over gelato, because it wasn’t as good as the gelato in Florence, but it was still very good.  The texture even remained creamy after a week in the freezer without being sealed air tight.  So, maybe I won’t hang up my spoon so soon when it comes to trying home made gelato.  Maybe next time I’ll try a more traditional flavor.

dsc01108

Here’s the full recipe, but like I said, I would recommend making a half batch.  The full batch did not completely fit into my ice cream maker.

Recipe (from Italian Ice Cream: Gelato, Sorbetto, Granita and Semifreddi by Carla Bardi & Emilia Onesti)

2 cups milk, preferably whole

8 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped

2 Tbsp instant coffee granules (I used freshly ground coffee beans that I steeped in the milk in a tea ball while the milk was heating to a boil. 

(Note:  If you like coffee flavoring that is a good way to do it, but I would recommend not keeping the coffee in the milk the entire time it is heating if you don’t want as strong of a coffee flavor.  Also, I used regular coffee, instead of decaf, this also made it difficult to eat for dessert in being that I don’t generally drink caffeine, so it hit me some days.)

2 cups heavy cream (this isn’t meant to be low fat)

2 tsps vanilla extract

6 large egg yolks

 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

Place a large bowl in the freezer to chill.

Place the milk, chocolate, and coffee in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Mix well and bring to a boil.  Remove from the heat as soon as the mixture reaches a boil.  Add the cream and vanilla and mix well.

Beat the egg yolks and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed until pale and creamy.

Pour the milk and chocolate mixture into the bowl with the egg yolk mixture, beating constantly with a wooden spoon.  Return to the saucepan and simmer over very low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture just coats the back of the spoon.  Do not let the mixture boil.

Pour into the chilled bowl.  Let cool completely, stirring often.  Chill in the refrigerator for at least 30minutes (we chilled our for about 4 hours).

Transfer the mixture to your ice cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

