Chocolate Creme Brulee

For my birthday, back in January, my husband took me to what was one of my favorite restaurants (they have since closed).  For dessert I ordered the milk chocolate creme brulee.  It was amazing.  From then on I have been wanting to try making it myself.  So, this past weekend I decided to try.  I had a really hard time finding a good recipe, so I tried to modify one.  It worked out okay, but there are some changes I would make next time.  I would offer you more pictures than this, but it was still excellent and this is all that was left of it.  The texture was the only thing holding this thing back from being down right amazing.

dsc01105

 

Adapted Recipe: (from Baking: From my home to yours by Dorie Greenspan)

1 1/4 cups heavey cream

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

3 large egg yolks (I would change this to 4-5 egg yolks next time.  My version did not set up very well and remained very liquidy.)

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Extra sugar for topping (about 4 Tbsp)

The original recipe has one preheat the oven to 200 degrees.  I would try this at 300 degrees next time and cook the ramekins in a hot water bath.  Prepare 4-6 ramekins depending on their size and your desired cooking method.  (If baking at 200 degrees place them on a cookie sheet.)

Bring the cream, milk and chocolate chips just a boil.

In a 1- or 2- quart glass measuring cup, or in a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks, sugar and vanilla together until well blended but not airy.  Still whisking, drizzly in about one quarter of the hot liquid – this will temper, or warm the yolks so they won’t curdle.  Whisking all the while, slowly pour in the remainder of the cream and milk.  Give the bowl a good rap against the counter to de-bubble the custard, then strain it into the baking dishes.

Bake the custards.  If at 200 degrees this will take about 50-60 minutes or more depending on the size of your ramekins.  If this is in a water bath, it will take between 25-45 minutes.  To determine if the custards are done, tap the sides of the dishes.  The custards should hold firm.  Lift the dishes onto a cooling rack and the the custards cool to room temperatures.

Cover each with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, preferably longer.  They can be kept in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.  For the sugar to be successfully caramelized, the custards need to be throughly chilled. 

To caramelize the sugar topping, sprinkle each custard with about 1 Tbsp of sugar.  Then use either a blowtorch or the broiler.  If using the broiler, place the ramekins in an ice bath to keep them cool.  Don’t walk away either, it won’t take long.  Let the sugar settle down slightly before serving. 

Enjoy!

I haven’t tried the changes I recommend yet, but I will be shortly.  So, I’ll keep you posted as to how they work.  Just so you know also, I didn’t just come up with the changes off the top of my head either, they are based off of another reliable source of making creme brulee (America’s Test Kitchen cookbook).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

