Black & White Banana Loaf

One of my favorite breads is banana bread.  This recipe tops them all.  A couple of months ago I found an absolutely delicious recipe from America’s Test Kitchen.  I really like that recipe, but this one definitely tops it.  For one, how can the banana and chocolate combination be bad.  Two, this recipe also calls for a hint of rum.  I didn’t think it would add much, but it adds a very nice, subtle aftertaste of the rum-banana combination.  There will no longer be any really old bananas sitting in my freezer.  I have a feeling I will definitely be making this recipe the next time I’m in the mood for banana bread. 

I’ve never made a marble cake before either, so this recipe was a slight challenge for me.  It definitely does not look like the picture.  I have a feeling I overmixed the two batters together, but in the end, does it really matter?  It still tastes the same.  I’ll just have to keep working on it until I get it perfect.

dsc01094

I definitely recommend you try making this one if you are a banana bread lover like myself.  You might never go back to your old traditional banana bread.

Recipe (From: Baking: From my home to yours by Dorie Greenspan)

1 1/3 cup AP flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 ripe bananas, peeled

1 Tbsp dark rum

3 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1 stick plus 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temp

2/3 cup packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup whole milk

Preheat over to 325degrees.  Grease an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 – inch loaf pan, dust the inside with flour and tap out the excess.  Place the pan on an insulated baking sheet or on two regular baking sheets stacked one on top of the other.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.

In a small bowl, mash the bananas and stir in the rum.

Melt together the chocolate and the 2 Tbsp butter, set aside.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably with the paddle attachment, beat the remaining stick of butter at medium speed until creamy, about 3 minutes.  Add the sugars and beat for another 2-3 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition, then beat in the vanilla.  Reduce the mixer speed to low and add half the flour mixture, mixing only until it is just incorporated.  With the mixer running, pour in the milk, and when it is blended, add the remaining dry ingredients.  Scrape down the bowl and mix in the mashed bananas.  The batter should look lumpy.

Pour a little less than half (I would recommend about a third) of the batter into the bowl with the melted chocolate and stir to blend.  Drop alternating spoonfuls of both batters into the prepared pan, then using a knife, swirl the batters together, taking care not to overdo it.  (I’m pretty certain I overdid it.)

Bake for 1 hour and 20-30 minutes, or until a knife inserted deep into the center comes out clean.  Check after 30minutes and if the cake starts to brown too much, cover it loosely with a foil tent.  Transfer the cake to a cooling rack and let it rest for about 15minutes before unmolding.  Then cool the cake to room temperature right side up.

dsc01096

Enjoy!

Comments Off on Black & White Banana Loaf

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.