Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler

Now I am a huge fan of the strawberry-rhubarb combination.  When it came time to make this cherry rhubarb cobbler at first I was a little uncertain.  Would the cherries be sweet enough to counter the tartness of the rhubarb?  Would frozen cherries work?  I love cherry pie, but I was afraid that the rhubarb would be overpowering.  I have to say though that in the end my husband and I both agree that this recipe is worth trying.  It was really good.  I will admit though, that it probably would be better during cherry season, since the frozen dark red cherries were not quite the same.  Maybe I’ll have to try this one again once cherry season comes and I can go pick my own.  The only thing I would do different next time if I were to use frozen cherries again is thaw and drain them before mixing them in the filling.  My cobbler came out a little runny and I think that the frozen cherries are why.  Here is the recipe if you are also interested in trying the cherry-rhubarb combination in place of the strawberry-rhubarb one.

Recipe: (from Baking: From my home to yours by Dorie Greenspan)

For the filling:

1 lb. sweet red cherries, pitted and halved

12 oz. rhubarb, peeled and cut into 1″ pieces

1/3 cup sugar

1 Tbsp cornstarch

pinch of ground ginger

For the topping:

3/4 cup AP flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3 Tbsp packed brown sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

pinch of ground ginger

3/4 stick (6 Tbsp) cold, unsalted butter cut into about 18 pieces

1/2 cup whole milk

Preheat the oven to 375degrees.  Grease an 8″ square baking pan (I used a 7″ round baking dish and made 3/4 of the recipe, but it still worked just fine.)

To make the filling:

Mix the cherries and rhubarb together in a medium bowl and stir in the sugar, cornstarch and ginger.  Stir the fruit from time to time while making the topping.

To make the topping:

Put both flours, the brown sugar, baking powder, salt and ginger in the food processor.  Pulse a couple of times just to blend.  Scatter the pieces of butter over the dry ingredients, and using 1 to 2 second long pulses, mix the butter until the dough looks like very course meal with a bunch of pea-size pieces.  Continuing to pulse, add the milk, then pulse until the dough forms moist clumps and curds.  Try not to process the dough so long that it forms a ball on the blade.  Turn the dough out onto a very lighly floured work surface.

Cut the dough into 20 pieces and gently shap each piece into a ball.  It doesn’t need to be perfect, the key is to not over-work the dough.

dsc01089

Pour the fruit and it syrupy liquid into the greased pan and top it with the biscuit puffs, making 4 rows of 5 puffs each.  Bake 35-45 minutes, or until biscuits are golden and the fruit is bubbling away.  Remove the pan from the oven and cool the cobbler for at least 20 minutes.

dsc010901

dsc01092

Enjoy!

Comments Off on Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.