Savory Corn & Pepper Muffins

I really meant to take pictures of all the TWD recipes I’ve made (about 15), but my department of 15 very hungry men have prevented me from doing this a few times.  This time though, I kept these for myself a little longer before bringing them in, so I was able to capture a picture of these cute little muffins.  If the weather had not started to warm up I would have made chili to go alongside these slightly spicy little muffins.  They are unexpectedly really good, although my husband thought that the amount of jalapeno could be decreased.  I do agree, that the flavor of the jalapeno is a little strong, but I didn’t find it too offensive.  If you like southwestern cuisine, I would really recommend making these.  They will hit the spot.

dsc01077

Recipe (from Baking: From my home to yours by Dorie Greenspan)

1 cup AP flour

1 cup yellow cornmeal

3 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 cup buttermilk

1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 large egg yolk

1/4 cup corn kernals (I used frozen, if canned they must be drained and patted dry)

1 small jalapeno, seeded, deveined and finely diced

1/4 red bell pepper, seeded, deveined and finely diced

Preheat oven to 400degrees.  Grease or line a muffin pan (I used a mini pan, otherwise it will make 12 regular sized muffins).

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, chili powder, salt, baking soda and black pepper.  In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, melted butter and egg yolks together until well blended.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with a rubber spatula gently and quickly stir to blend.  The batter will be lumpy.  Stir in the corn kernels, jalapeno and red pepper.  The batter will be very runny.   Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.  Bake about 20minutes for regular sized muffins, or until a knife comes out clean.  Cook for 5minutes before removing them from the muffin pan.

dsc01078

Comments Off on Savory Corn & Pepper Muffins

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.